First Shot Speakers

First Shot Speakers

First Shot Speakers

The First Shot Ceremony is the official “opening ceremony” of the National Matches. Each year an invited special guest makes brief remarks to assembled competitors, match officials, volunteers, state and local military and government leaders. Several hundred people attend the ceremony each year. After the First Shot Speaker’s remarks, they have the honor of firing the ceremonial “first shot” of the National Matches. The First Shot Ceremony typically takes place on Monday morning prior to the start of the National Matches on Rodriguez Range in front of the main Camp Perry flagpole.


2019 First Shot Speaker
mr. e.c. (cris) stone,
vice chair, cmp board of directors &
long-time competitor and cmp supporter


2018 First Shot Speaker
Maj. Gen. Clark LeMasters, Jr.,
Commanding General of the U.S. Army Tank-automotive and Armaments Command and the Senior Commander of
TACOM Life Cycle Management Command,
U.S. Army Garrison-Detroit Arsenal, Mich


2017 First Shot Speaker
Major General John C. Harris, Jr.,
Assistant Adjutant General, Ohio Army National Guard Commander, Ohio Army National Guard


2016 First Shot Speaker
Oscar Mahlon Love, Jr.,
CMP Board of Directors


2015 First Shot Speaker
Congressman Robert Latta, 
Ohio’s Fifth Congressional District


2014 First Shot Speaker
Mr. Gary Anderson, DCM Emeritus


2013 First Shot Speaker
LTG John Crosby,
CMP Board of Directors


2012 First Shot Speaker
LTG William E. Ingram JR.,
Director Army National Guard


2011 First Shot Speaker
Dr. Joseph Westphal,
Under Secretary of the U. S. Army


2010 First Shot Speaker
Ohio Governor Ted Strickland


2009 First Shot Speaker
Brig. Gen. Melvin G. Spiese, USMC


 2008 First Shot Speaker  
Mr. John Sigler,
President, National Rifle Association


 2007 First Shot Speaker  
Mr. John McLaurin,
Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Army


 2006 First Shot Speaker 
Lieutenant General H Steven Blum,
Chief, National Guard Bureau 


2005 First Shot Speaker
Major General Greg Wayt,
The Adjutant General, State of Ohio


 2004 First Shot Speaker
Mr. Jim Hill,
Triple Distinguished, Olympic Silver Medalist, Many-Time National Champion and National Matches Highpower Match Director


2003 First Shot Speaker
Mr. William Blankenship,
World and National Champion


 2002 First Shot Speaker
Mr. J.B. Hudson,
Administrative Assistant of the Secretary of the Army 


2001 First Shot Speaker
Mrs. Nancy Johnson,
2000 Olympic Gold Medalist